Home All Blog Posts Bermuda Placed On UK Amber List For Travel

Bermuda Placed On UK Amber List For Travel

The UK Government has issued its ‘red, amber and green list rules for entering England’ and has included Bermuda on their ‘Amber List’.

A Government spokesperson said, “The UK Government has today issued its ‘red, amber and green list rules for entering England’ and has included Bermuda and other Caribbean Territories on their ‘Amber List’.

“This means that from the 17th May when the UK opens up for travel, passengers departing Bermuda and arriving in the UK are subject to the amber list rules.

“UK Government guidance states: ‘if you have been in an amber country or territory in the 10 days before you arrive in England the following rules will apply:

“Before travel to England all passengers are required to:

  • complete a passenger locator form
  • take a Covid-19 test
  • book and pay for day 2 and day 8 Covid-19 travel tests – known as a “travel test package” – to be taken after arrival in England

“All passengers upon their arrival in England must:

  • quarantine at home or in the place you are staying for 10 days
  • take a Covid-19 test on or before day 2 and on or after day 8

“The London Office previously and continues to be in discussions with relevant UK officials on this matter and is working to move Bermuda on the ‘Green List’. It is important to note that these lists are consistently under review pending the jurisdiction satisfying the relevant factors and criteria for a change in status. Any immediate and urgent matters please contact the London Office at londonoffice@gov.bm / + 44 [0] 20 7518 9900.”

The UK Government website said, “Transport Secretary Grant Shapps has today announced that international travel can begin to safely reopen from 17 May, allowing people to go on foreign holidays to green list countries.

The ‘Stay in the UK’ regulation will lift on 17 May, meaning leisure travel from England will no longer be illegal. However, speaking at a No10 press conference this afternoon, the Transport Secretary outlined how strict border control measures will remain in place as international travel gradually resumes.

“Different levels of restriction will be applied to individuals returning to England from countries based on the traffic light system set out by the Global Travel Taskforce.

“Our priority remains to protect public health, which is why the ‘green’ list is currently very small, with only 12 countries and territories. As the epidemiological situation improves worldwide, it is expected that there will be more opportunities for leisure travel with a greater number of destinations added.

“In total, 12 countries and territories have been added to the green list. Some of these include: Portugal including the Azores and Madeira; Australia; New Zealand; Singapore; Brunei; Iceland; Faroe Islands; Gibraltar; Falkland Islands; and Israel and Jerusalem.”